Posted by Derek Brown on

Rae Langton delivering 2014 New Enlightenment Lecture

The Edinburgh Women in Philosophy Group invites you to the


On Friday 12 December 2014  at the University of Edinburgh

3:00pm – 3:50pm
Roundtable discussion with Prof Rae Langton (Cambridge)

4:00pm – 5:30pm
2014 New Enlightenment Lecture by Prof Rae Langton

in Room 3.10/3.11, Dugald Stewart Building, University of Edinburgh

Places for lecture are LIMITED so please do register soon and by no later than 03 December by using our convenient e-pay link:

For details about both events, please see:

We would like to acknowledge the generosity of the workshop’s sponsors: the Scots Philosophical Association, and the School of Philosophy, Psychology, and Language Sciences.

Posted by Derek Brown on

Philosophy events, week of 24th November

One more reminder: registration for the 2014 SPA Annual Meeting (at St Andrews) closes on 28th November.  To register go to:

Research seminars next week (more information):

  • Colin Blakemore (Institute of Philosophy, London), “What has science ever done for perception?,” at Glasgow’s Philosophy, Psychology, and Neuroscience Research Seminar on Monday, 24th November.
  • Joe Morrison (Queen’s University Belfast) at Glasgow’s Senior Seminar on Tuesday, 25th November.
  • Patrick Todd (University of Edinburgh) at St Andrews’ Philosophy Club on Wednesday, 26th November.
  • Sarah Broadie (University of St Andrews), “Virtue and the natural goods: an Aristotelian perspective,” at Stirling’s Visiting Speaker Seminar on Thursday, 27th November.
  • Juha Saatsi (University of Leeds), “Truth, progress and realism in science,” at Edinburgh’s Philosophy of Science: Contemporary Debates on Thursday, 27th November.
  • Kenneth Walden (Dartmouth College), “Realizing respect,” at Edinburgh’s Visiting Speaker Seminar on Friday, 28th November.

Other events next week (more information):

  • Knowledge-First workshop, Edinburgh, 26th November.  Speakers: Jesper Kallestrup (Edinburgh), Martin Smith (Glasgow), Clayton Littlejohn (Kings College London), Aidan McGlynn (Edinburgh), Heather Logue (Leeds).