Posted by Derek Brown on

Spinoza, the Infinite, and the Eternal

11th – 12th May 2012

University of Dundee

Keynote speakers:

  • Clare Carlisle (Kings College London), “Eternal Life: The Radical Theology of Ethics V”
  • Alan Nelson (University of North Carolina), “Grades of Infinity”


  • John Grey (Boston), “Spinoza’s Analogy of Parthood in Ethics V”
  • Julie R. Klein (Villanova), “Spinoza’s Gersonidean Eternity of the Mind”
  • Mike LeBuffe (Texas A&M), “The Dictates of Reason and Ethics 5P7”
  • Lisete Rodrigues (Lisbon), “Eternity as a political concept”
  • Noa Shein (Ben Gurion University of the Negev), “Necessarily Always a Bit Confused”
  • Daniel Schneider (Wisconsin), “Why Explaining Duration in the Ethics takes an Eternity”
  • Justin Steinberg (CUNY), “From Here to Eternity: Spinoza on Temporary Encounters with Eternality”
  • Emily Thomas (Cambridge), “Eternity in Spinoza and Samuel Alexander”
  • Valtteri Viljanen (Turku), “Spinoza on Virtue and Eternity”
  • Daniel Whistler (Liverpool), “How Speak of Eternity? The Rhetoric of Ethics Part V”

Inquires to Beth Lord

Conference website

Posted by Derek Brown on

Scottish Seminar in Early Modern Philosophy III

9th – 10th May 2012

University of Aberdeen

Keynote Speakers

  • Stephen Gaukroger (University of Aberdeen / University of Sydney)
  • Yitzhak Melamed (Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore)


  • Ruth Boeker (University of St. Andrews)
  • Dietmar Heidemann (University of Luxembourg)
  • Matteo Favaretti Camposampiero (Università Ca’ Foscari Venezia)
  • Larry Jorgensen (Skidmore College, Saratoga Springs, NY)
  • Markku Roinila (University of Edinburgh / University of Helsinki)
  • Jon Miller (Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario)
  • Michael Olson (Villanova University, Philadelphia)
  • Gabriel Alban-Zapata (ENS de Lyon)
  • Martine Pecharman (CNRS – Maison Française d’Oxford)
  • Dario Perinetti (UQAM, Montreal)
  • Andrea Sangiacomo (ENS de Lyon)
  • Eric Schliesser (University of Ghent)

Session chairs:

  • Catherine Wilson (University of Aberdeen)
  • Julie Klein (Villanova University, Philadelphia)
  • Emily Thomas (Cambridge University)
  • Beth Lord (University of Dundee)
  • Justin Steinberg (Brooklyn College, City University of New York)
  • Michael LeBuffe (Texas A&M)
  • Valtteri Viljanen (University of Turku)

Inquires to Mogens Lærke

Conference website

**SPA sponsored**